Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Computer Science 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.utdallas.edu/computerscience  Print Guide  RSS Updates

RefWorks (Citation Management Software)             Print Page
  
 

What is Write-n-Cite?

About Write-N-Cite

With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in a manuscript with the click of a button. Write-N-Cite is an OPTIONAL plug-in that is downloaded to a user's computer and when run, accesses a LIMITED version of their RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite for Windows installs a button on your desktop as well as an icon on the Word toolbar and a menu option in Word, under Tools. Any of these options will launch Write-N-Cite.

  • Write-N-Cite for Windows works only with Microsoft Word.
  • Using Write-N-Cite from off-site may require configuration for a proxy server.
  • There are Write-N-Cite versions for both Mac and PC. Compatibility requirements are in the online help.
  • Mac version is a zipped file. We recommend using Stuffit to unstuff the plug-in.


For Instructions on using Write-n-Cite go to http://cardcatalog.tui.edu/download/website/writencite.htm


 

Bibliographies

Output Styles

RefWorks offers hundreds of output styles including APA, MLA, Chicago, Vancouver and Turabian, and we are continually adding more.  Users and Administrators can even build their own styles or customize any of our styles by using our Output Style Editor.

 
 

What is RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a citation management service that allows you to import citations from online article indexes and databases, organize and manage these references within folders, automatically format them within papers and create instant bibliographies in a variety of styles. For optimal performance, use of Internet Explorer version 5.0 or later is recommended.

To start: You must set up your own RefWorks account  (you must use your UTD email address). Once you have your individual account set up, you can start building and using your own citations database. Within RefWorks you can define and organize your own folders where citations are saved.

What does RefWorks do?

With RefWorks you can:

  • create your own personal database
  • import references from your institution's databases
  • automatically format your papers and bibliographies in seconds

Get started now with these easy steps:

CREATE YOUR PERSONAL ACCOUNT (RefWorks account) You can then use your RefWorks account from any computer using your RefWorks Username and password.

  1. Enter your subscriber information.
  2. Create a database by automatically importing data from online services or by typing references in manually.
  3. Create a paper in your word processor inserting reference ID numbers in the locations you want to cite references.  Save and close the file.
  4. From RefWorks click on Bibliography and select the paper you just saved and the output style in which you want it created.  Click on Create Bibliography and save the document to disk.

That's it...your paper is formatted correctly and the bibliography automatically created.

 
 

RefWorks Tutorials

For free instruction at the McDermott Library Check Availability and Register for a RefWorks Instruction Session Through McDermott Library Events Calendar.

All classes are held in MC2.524.

 

For online tutorials from RefWorks go to http://www.refworks.com/

including http://www.refworks.com/content/demo/RefWorks%20Demo%20%2707.htm



 
green divider line
800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080 (P.O. Box 830643, 75083-0643) (972)-883-2955
Send your questions or comments to: Library Web Oversight Committee
UT Dallas Home Page  UT Dallas Homepage
Description

  Loading content... please wait