Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Management 

Last update: Dec 10th, 2008 URL: http://libguides.utdallas.edu/management  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

What's New

 

 

General Reference Sources

 

Rate This Site

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
 

Introduction

Management

Resources on the study of management. 

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges: HD 28 -70; HF 1 -6182

 

Important Resources

This collection includes sources to help find information about topics in Management. 

Reference Sources

Community sourcebook of ZIP code demographics. HA203 .S66 2006 Reference Desk – 2nd floor

Demographics USA. County edition. HF5415.2 .S878 2004 Reference Desk – 2nd floor

Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States. REF JK1118.N47 2000 (also available as an eBook)

Periodical Title Abbreviations. Z6945 .A2 P47 Reference Desk – 2nd floor

Survey of Buying Power and Media Markets. HF5415.2 .S94 2000 Reference Desk – 2nd floor

U.S. industry & market outlook. HC101 .U55 Reference Desk – 2nd floor

Plunkett's airline, hotel & travel industry almanac.  REF HD9696.8.A47 P58 2005 (other Plunkett’s are available in print and/or as eBooks – enter Plunketts as a title in the library catalog for a full listing)

Marketing and Statistical Information
American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, and Index to International Statistics provide a wide variety of statistical information published by the U.S. federal government, non-federal and industry sources, and international organizations respectively. All can be searched in Statistical Universe database by using the “Search Abstracts” link.

Country Commerce Guide to the commercial operating conditions of various countries, including laws, regulations, and taxes. Separate reports for each country.  Published by the Economist Intelligence Unit.  Updated annually.  Available online in the Factiva database.

Country Finance Guide to the financial systems of various countries, including banking, financial markets, fund-raising, and government policies and regulations.  Separate reports for each country.  Published by the Economist Intelligence Unit.  Updated annually.  Available online in the Factiva database.

Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook (REFHF 91 .D52 2006) Contains import and export data for numerous countries, for many years, and with whom they trade.

Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries  (REF HG 4538 .A1 D5 2003)  Three volume set containing lists of American firms, the products or services they sell, and the countries in which they operate.

Directory of United States Exporters  (REF HF 3011 .D63 2006)  A list of U.S. companies who export.  Includes a product index and an estimate of the value of their exports.

Dun & Bradstreet/Gale Group Industry Handbook  (REF HD 9696 .D86 2000)  5 volume set containing information on the entertainment, hospitality, construction, agriculture, chemical, pharmaceutical, computer, software, telecommunications, insurance, and health services industries.

Dun & Bradstreet Principal International Businesses  (REF HF 54 .U5 P74 2006/07) This source lists company contacts and information by country, SIC numbers, and by business name.

Dun & Bradstreet’s Guide to Doing Business Around the World  (REF HF 5389 .M78 2001) Arranged by country, this guide provides data on working conditions, trade policy, risk factors, investment climate, and political factors for many foreign countries.

Exporter’s Encyclopaedia  (REF HF 3011 .E9 2006/07)  Country specific information for U.S. Exporters, including trade regulations and documentation necessary for exporting to specific countries.

Industrial Commodity Statistics Yearbook  (REF HC 10 .I59 2002) Published annually by the United Nations, this book provides production data for consumer and industrial commodities for specific countries and regions of the world.

International Financial Statistics Yearbook  (REF HG 3881 .I626 2006)   Published by the International Monetary Fund, this source contains detailed financial data for most countries of the world for numerous years.

International Marketing Data and Statistics  (REF HA 42 .I56 2003)  Contains discrete data for numerous countries, including demographics, economic indicators, finance, trade, labor, industries, energy, consumer expenditures for various commodities, market size for various commodities, possession of durables, health, literacy, communications, and income.

Market Share Reporter  (REF HF5410 .M35 2007) Arranged by SIC and NAICS numbers, this book lists which market share information for both domestic and international markets.

Trade Services Directory and Guide  (REF HF 1419 .T72 2007)  This companion volume to the U.S. Custom House Guide and Official Export Guide provides listings of international shipping services as well as extensive advice on exporting in its “How-To” section.

World Consumer Lifestyles Databook: Key Trends  (REF HF 5415.3 .W67 2005)    Contains country specific data on population, health, employment, education, and consumer expenditures.

World Development Report  (REF HC 59.7 .W62 2006/07) Published annually by the World Bank, this source provides statistics revealing a country’s level of development. (also available electronically – link from the online catalog record)

World Economic Outlook  (REF HC 10 .W7979 2006) Published by the International Monetary Fund, this source provides a variety of social and economic indicators for various countries and includes a chapter on future economic prospects for regions of the world. Also available online: http://www.imf.org/external/pubind.htm

Journals and Newspapers 

Austin American-Statesman           Fortune

Business Week                            New York Times

Dallas Morning News                     Online Newspapers   

Economist                                    Wall Street Journal

Forbes                                         Washington Post

All of the newspapers and magazines listed above are available in a variety of formats including paper, electronic, and microfilm.  Check the online catalog for specific dates and locations.


Websites for Business, Economy and Finance  

 Big Charts -- includes stock quotes both recent and historical and market news http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com

Business Case Studies & Marketing Theory by the Times 100 UK -- 100 online case studies of well-known companies and free educational resources http://www.thetimes100.co.uk/

CI (Competitive Intelligence) Strategies & Tools -- index to over 600 intelligence-related sites -- from macro-economic data to stock quotes, annual reports and more:  http://www.fuld.com/Tindex/I3.html

Consumer Price Index (CPI) -- U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services http://www.bls.gov/cpi/

Current Industrial Reports (CIR) -- government surveys measuring manufacturing activity in important commodity areas http://www.census.gov/cir/www/

Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History -- http://eh.net/encyclopedia/ Finance Resources on the Web-- general finance and economy, financial markets, company, fund & investment research, corporate finance, risk management & more

Forbes.com -- Access "Lists" of best small, large & private companies http://www.forbes.com/lists

Hoover's Online Company Information --  http://www.hoovers.com/free/

Industry Research Desk -- learn about a specific industry or company http://virtualpet.com/industry/howto/search.htm

NASD BondInfo -- for info on corporate bonds http://www.nasdbondinfo.com/asp/bond_search.asp

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Codes -- http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes -- http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html

Government & General Internet Sources  

Texas Business Portal -- Links related to starting a business, including a Guide to Starting a Business, selecting a business structure, forms, applications, and services, trademarks and copyrights, state taxes, financial assistance, small business assistance, and export assistance. http://www.governor.state.tx.us/divisions/ecodev/sba/guide

World Bank Group -- includes the latest World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance report and more http://web.worldbank.org/

USA.gov  http://www.usa.gov/ “U.S. Government’s official web portal.”  Find information on federal and state government agencies, forms, laws, regulations, phone directories, and more.  USA.gov is a good directory to all things government related.

FedStats  http://www.fedstats.gov/ Use to access government-produced statistical data.  Find statistical information by topic; statistical profiles of states, counties, Congressional Districts, and Federal judicial districts; statistics by geography from U.S. agencies, and more.

International Trade Statistics from the World Trade Organization:   http://www.wto.org/english/res_e/statis_e/statis_e.htm

World Fact Book:   http://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLoreen Phillips
Contact Info:
972-883-2126
Send Email

Subjects:
Management, Information Literacy

 

Meebo Me!

 

Confused?

Want Help?

ask a librarian

Ask a Librarian

 
green divider line
800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080 (P.O. Box 830643, 75083-0643) (972)-883-2955
Send your questions or comments to: Library Web Oversight Committee
UT Dallas Home Page  UT Dallas Homepage
Description

  Loading content... please wait