News from IEEE
Winners of IEEE Engineering Your World Contest Announced IEEE Presidents' Change the World Competition
IEEE recently announced
the winners of the IEEE Engineering Your World video competition which was held
as part of the global celebration of IEEE’s 125th Anniversary. The contest
recognized the top videos that depicted the most innovative and creative use of
science, engineering and technology to enhance everyday life.
The competition’s judges narrowed the entries down to five finalists, which
were then part of an online vote. The grand prize winner went to the “Meat
Thermometer” video submitted by Michael Robbins from MIT.
View all of the prize-winning videos
Do you have an idea that could benefit humanity and revolutionize the way we live? IEEE is hosting a global competition for students who develop unique solutions to real-world problems using engineering, science, computing and leadership skills. Winners could walk away with up to US$10,000. The competition begins September 2009. Learn more
Biomedical Engineering Student Recognized as IEEE's 'New Face of Engineering'
Guruprasad Madhavan, 29, a doctoral degree student in biomedical engineering at Binghamton University, State University of New York, was selected as IEEE/IEEE-USA's 2009 "New Face of Engineering" - one of 14 engineers recognized for this international honor. Madhavan is working on neuromuscular stimulation approaches that may help prevent osteoporosis, heart failure and mild cognitive impairment related to low blood pressure.
The New Faces of Engineering is sponsored by the National Engineers Week Foundation. The program highlights the vitality, diversity and rich contributions of engineers under 30.
View the other top choices
Read more on all the 2009 "New Faces" honorees
IEEEXtreme 3.0 Competition Sets Record
They came, they
saw, they coded. With more than 1,000 student members from 700 teams in over 40
countries, this year's IEEEXtreme 3.0 student competition broke the record for
participation. The annual event is a 24-hour-long programming challenge for students.
The grand prize winner was Mora Seekers from the University of Moratuwa, in Sri
Lanka. View the results
And for something completely different ...
From a group of PhD students at Stanford University comes LABMEETING - a website designed to "Make Science Easier".
Organize your PDFs, discover new papers and manage your labs.
Introduction
What is Biomedical Engineering?
Biomedical engineering integrates physical, chemical, mathematical, and computational sciences and engineering principles to study biology, medicine, behavior, and health. It advances fundamental concepts; creates knowledge from the molecular to the organ systems level; and develops innovative biologics, materials, processes, implants, devices and informatics approaches for the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of disease, for patient rehabilitation, and for improving health.
NIH working definition of bioengineering – July 24, 1997
Library of Congress Call Number Ranges: R856-R857; TP248.13-248.65
Important Resources
This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts in biomedical engineering.
Reference Sources in Biomedical Engineering
- Introduction to Biomedical engineering handbook. R856.15 .S77 2008 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
- Biomedical device technology : principles and design. R856 .C43 2008 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
- Computational intelligence in biomedical engineering. R859.7 A78 B44 2008 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
- Handbook of neural engineering. QA76.87 .H344 2007 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
- Spine technology handbook. RD768 .K88 2006 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
- Standard handbook of biomedical engineering and design. R856.85 .S73 2003 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
Online Reference Sources
General Reference Sources
- Associations Unlimited
a list of associations with contact information - Oxford English Dictionary
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
a comprehensive collection of reference materials in electronic format
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Online Science Dictionary
Subject Librarian |
Location: MC 2.526A, Phone (972) 883-2627
Send Email
Subjects:
Computer Science, Reference, Distance Education





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait