Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Distance Education Library Guide 

To help students access and use the library's resources and services.
Last update: Oct 11th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.utdallas.edu/distanceeducation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Try these links

 

  • Doing Business Around the World  
    Here's an interesting site for business majors from the World Bank called "Take a trip around the world to discover how easy (or difficult" it is to do business in 181 economies".
  • Subject guides, class handouts, tutorials  
      
    Learn How to find a book review, evaluate a website, locate a government document, etc. with the help of guides from the McDermott Librarians
 

What's new?

Refworks 

RefWorks is a citation management service that allows you to import citations from online article indexes and databases, organize and manage these references within folders, automatically format them within papers and create instant bibliographies in a variety of styles. Learn how to use RefWorks and discover its many benefits!

Sign up for a free account now (be sure you use your utd email address), then go to http://www.refworks.com/ to sign up for free webinars from RefWorks and learn from the pro.


 

 

Was this guide useful?

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
 

Resources and Services for Distance Students

Distance Learning

Can a librarian help me to find and use the resources at UTD library?
Yes. There are several ways for you to contact a librarian:

Click on the Ask A Librarian icon on the side of the page and then choose the most convenient way to reach a librarian.

How do I get my UTD-ID number?
Students can obtain their UTD-ID number by logging on to http://netid.utdallas.edu. If you received your Comet Card after July 2006, it is printed on the front of your Comet Card.

 Why would I need a UTD-ID number if I’ll never be on campus?
You will need your UTD-ID number to access all of the library’s electronic resources (reserves, journal articles, ebooks, interlibrary loan, etc) from off campus.

How can I get books and paper articles?
Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get UTD paper materials delivered to you (distance learners only). Contact Vickie Bullock for assistance in obtaining materials and options for document delivery.

Distance Learners are UTD students who live outside the boundaries of Collin, Dallas, Denton, Rockwall, or Tarrant counties.

What if I am an online student, but I live in one of the counties listed above?
You would not be classified as a Distance Learner. You would still be able to access the electronic resources from off campus using your UTD-ID, but you would have to come on campus to use the print resources. You would then need a Comet Card, which you can get at the Info Depot in the Student Union on campus.

What is a Comet Card?
It is your UTD ID card and is also your UTD library card.

Will I need a Comet Card?
Only if you will be on campus and wish to use the library resources or if you need an ID that shows that you are a student at UTD. You may obtain your Comet Card at the Info Depot in the Student Union, or send an email to the Comet Card Office requesting an ID.

• Email must include: 

  1. Complete Student name
  2. Return mailing address (where to mail card)
  3. A .JPG “head shot” photo file attached to the email
  4. Fax a copy of Driver’s License (copy must be enlarged so we can see the picture on it). The fax is 972-883-6144

Can I use my Comet Card to check out from other libraries in my Area?
Yes. You can Apply for A Texshare Card which will allow you to borrow from another participating Texas library. It is only valid in Texas and must be accompanied by your Comet Card.

Can I get materials that aren’t owned by UTD?
Yes, all UTD students may use the Interlibrary Loan Service to obtain materials from another library. (we will find which library to borrow from) Contact Vickie Bullock if you need help using Interlibrary Loan.

How can I get help with citations and bibliographies?
From the Useful Websites select “Citations and Style Manuals”. This is a collection of websites that explain how to use the various style manuals. Also, RefWorks (a citation manager) will help with citations and bibliographies. If you need help setting up your RefWorks account, or using RefWorks you may email or call Carol Oshel, carol.oshel@utdallas.edu, 972-883-2627.

What if I need more help?
Use the Help pages and tutorials provided by the databases. The librarians have also made some tutorials and handouts.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageCarol Oshel
Contact Info:
Location: MC 2.526A, Phone (972) 883-2627
Send Email

Subjects:
Computer Science, Reference, Distance Education

 

Meebo Me!


 

                                                                                           

 

Confused?

Want Help?

ask a librarian

Ask a Librarian

 

RefWorks (Citation Manager)

What is RefWorks?
It is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- it is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Register for a free personal account from the library home page, using your UTD email address.

 
green divider line
800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080 (P.O. Box 830643, 75083-0643) (972)-883-2955
Send your questions or comments to: Library Web Oversight Committee
UT Dallas Home Page  UT Dallas Homepage
Description

  Loading content... please wait