This is the "Home" page of the "Nanotechnology, Nanoscience, Nanomaterials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nanotechnology, Nanoscience, Nanomaterials  

The branch of technology that deals with dimensions and tolerances of 1 to 100 nanometres, or, generally, with the manipulation of individual atoms and molecules. (OED Online)
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utdallas.edu/content.php?pid=109984 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Handbooks, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Cover Art
The Nanobiotechnology Handbook - Yubing Xie (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9781439838709
Publication Date: 2012-11-16
A thorough overview of nanobiotechnology and its place in advances in applied science and engineering, The Nanobiotechnology Handbook combines contributions from physics, bioorganic and bioinorganic chemistry, molecular and cellular biology, materials science, and medicine as well as from mechanical, electrical, chemical, and biomedical engineering to address the full scope of current and future developments. World-class experts discuss the role of nanobiotechnology in bioanalysis, biomolecular and biomedical nanotechnology, biosensors, biocatalysis and biofuel, and education and workforce development.

Cover Art
Handbook of Nanoscopy - Gustaaf van Tendeloo (Editor); Dirk van Dyck (Editor); Stephen J. Pennycook (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9783527317066
Publication Date: 2012-05-21
This completely revised successor to the Handbook of Microscopy supplies in-depth coverage of all imaging technologies from the opticalto the electron and scanning techniques. Adopting a twofold approach, the book firstly presents the various technologies as such, before goingon to cover the materials class by class, analyzing how the different imaging methods can be successfully applied. It covers the latest developments in techniques, such as in-situ TEM, 3D imaging in TEM and SEM, as well as a broad range of material types, including metals,alloys, ceramics, polymers, semiconductors etc

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of nanoscience and society - David H. Guston
Whether the impact will be revolutionary, or less dramatic, very small scale technology involves incredible potential as well as risks--and it all could get incredibly out of control before governments and regulatory agencies catch up, which is a subject that merits profound attention. In this well-conceived reference, two volumes contain 500 alphabetically-arranged entries pertaining to nanotechnology--not to the technical aspects, but rather to the societal implications insofar as these implications are being anticipated, seriously studied, and seriously hyped or inadvisably dismissed.

Cover Art
Handbook of nanofabrication
Call Number: online
Many of the devices and systems used in modern industry are becoming progressively smaller and have reached the nanoscale domain. Nanofabrication aims at building nanoscale structures, which can act as components, devices, or systems, in large quantities at potentially low cost. Nanofabrication is vital to all nanotechnology fields, especially for the realization of nanotechnology that involves the traditional areas across engineering and science.

Cover Art
Handbook of Carbon Nano Materials - Francis D'Souza and Karl M. Kadish
Call Number: TA418.9.N35 H34 2011 4th floor (2 vols)
This book covers the contributions of significant discoveries of fundamentals and applications of fullerene and all-carbon nanomaterials from leading scientists. It contains over two dozen chapters reviewing recent progress in fullerene chemistry and physics, endohedral fullerenes, carbon nanotubes and graphenes, supramolecular chemistry of fullerenes and all-carbon materials, materials chemistry aspects, molecular electronics and photovoltaic applications, and electrochemical energy storage applications. Researchers and industry professionals will undoubtedly appreciate the extensive coverage of this vast and increasingly important field compiled in a single volume.

Cover Art
Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology
Call Number: ebook and T174.7 .S67 2006 (4th floor)
Beside the presentation of nanostructures, micro/nanofabrication, and micro/nanodevices, special emphasis is on scanning probe microscopy, nanotribology and nanomechanics, molecularly thick films, industrial applications and microdevice reliability, and on social aspects.

Cover Art
Nanomaterials Handbook
Call Number: TA418.9.N35 H357 2006 (4th floor)
Focusing on carbon because of its importance in nanotechnology, the 27 studies look at traditional uses such as ceramics, semiconductors, metals, biomaterials, and polymers; but also at such factors as dimensionality, processing methods, and applications.


 

What is Nanotechnology?

     Nanotechnology is the branch of technology that deals with dimensions and tolerances of 1 to 100 nanometres, or, generally, with the manipulation of individual atoms and molecules.

    


    First uses of the word nanotechnology:

         1974 N. TANIGUCHI in Proc. Internat. Conf. Production Engin. II. 18/1 The usual precision finishing technology has aimed to get the preciseness and fineness of 1 {mu}m, i.e. 10-6m in length, hence it says ‘micro-technology’, not so accurate in meaning. Consequently, in contrast, the finishing technology aimed to get the preciseness and fineness of 1nm would be called ‘Nano-technology’. 1986 K. E. DREXLER Engines of Creation i. 11 As nanotechnology moves beyond reliance on proteins, it will grow more ordinary from an engineer's point of view.

    1998 Independent 2 Apr. 2/7 The most obvious use for such a power plant would be in ‘nanotechnology’ systems, where mechanical systems may be so tiny that hundreds of them can fit onto the head of a pin. 2000 Business Rev. Weekly 11 Aug. 60 The areas that some venture capitalists are entering include biotechnology, and ‘over the horizon’ developments such as micro-machining and nanotechnology.

    A nanometre/nanometer is one thousand-millionth of a metre. Abbreviated nm.

 


      (From the Oxford English Dictionary Online)

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Carol Oshel
Contact Info
Location: MC 2.526A, Phone (972) 883-2627
Send Email
 

800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080 (P.O. Box 830643, 75083-0643) (972)-883-2955
Send your questions or comments to: Library Web Oversight Committee
UT Dallas Home Page The University of Texas at Dallas

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip