News from IEEE
Milestones Get Their Due
IEEE recently commemorated three noteworthy advances in technology with ceremonies recognizing them as IEEE Milestones in Electrical Engineering and Computing.
A ceremonial plaque was unveiled on 14 April at Hewlett-Packard’s laboratories in Palo Alto, California, USA, to commemorate the development and commercial introduction in 1972 of the HP-35, the world’s first full-function scientific calculator small enough to fit in a shirt pocket. But perhaps a ceremonial chalk outline in the shape of a slide rule also should have been drawn nearby to indicate that the labs were the place where the death knell was sounded for that centuries-old device.
Within a year of the HP-35’s March 1972 introduction, engineers and students had bought more than 100,000 of the $395 devices. The handwriting was on the wall, and in another couple of years or so the scientific calculator had replaced the venerable slide rule.
The IEEE Milestone plaque will be displayed in the lobby of the building where much of the design work for the electronic slide rule was carried out.
Read more
The IEEE Computer Society, along with the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), will present the Eckert-Mauchly Award to Dr. Joel Emer, IEEE Fellow, of Intel, Corp. for pioneering contributions to performance analysis, modeling methodologies and design innovations in several significant industry microprocessors. Emer developed quantitative methods including measurement of real machines, analytical modeling and simulation techniques that are now widely employed to evaluate the performance of complex computer processors. He was also cited for his ability to bridge the gaps that often mark research and development as well as academia and industry. He will receive the 2009 Eckert-Mauchly Award, known as the most prestigious award in the computer architecture community, at the International Symposium on Computer Archtecture, 20-24 June in Austin, Texas, USA. Read more
In Brief: Now Available in IEEE Xplore
More than 100 journal issues, conference proceedings and standards have been added to the IEEE Xplore® digital library in May. Some of the highlights include:
IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, May 2009 Features articles on convex matrix inequalities versus linear matrix inequalities; POD-based model predictive controllers; stability analysis of time-delay systems; and scalar gauss-markov systems.
IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics, July–Aug 2009
Looks at surface mapping using consistent pants decomposition; vectorizing cartoon animations; photorealistic large-scale urban city model reconstruction; and space time cube representation of spatiotemporal patterns.
IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, June 2009
Highlights adaptive fuzzy filtering for artifact reduction; self-similarity driven color demosaicking; electronic noise modeling in statistical iterative reconstruction; and 3D articulated human motion tracking.
What's New
Rate This Site
Introduction
Library of Congress Call Number Ranges: Computer Science -- Electronic Data Processing QA 75.5 – QA 76.95
Important Resources
This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts in biomedical engineering.
Reference Sources in Computer Science
- Concise encyclopedia of computer science. QA 76.15 .C654 2004 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Data compression the complete reference. QA 76.9 .D33 S25 2004 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Dictionary of computing. QA 76.1 .C64 2004 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- GRE computer science test. QA 76.28 .B47 2005 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- A to Z of computer scientists. QA 76.2 .A2 H46 2003 (Reference 2nd floor)
Online Reference Sources
Hutchinson dictionary of computing and the internet.
Computer sciences
Mathematics for game developers
Digital crime and forensic science in cyberspace
Berkshire encyclopedia of human-computer interaction
English dictionary of computing.
General Reference Sources
- Associations Unlimited
a list of associations with contact information - Oxford English Dictionary
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
a comprehensive collection of reference materials in electronic format
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Subject Librarian |
Location: MC 2.526A, Phone (972) 883-2627
Send Email
Subjects:
Computer Science, Reference, Distance Education





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait