This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2012 URL: http://libguides.utdallas.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What's New

 

is a database containing 1.4 million spectra (IR, NMR, Raman, and UV-Vis). Created by the Informatics Division of Bio-Rad Laboratories, it also provides the molecular structure and properties of each compound. The database can be searched by compound name, molecular formula, and CAS registry number.

Webinar: Mixture Analysis of Spectra

Description: The spectral analysis of mixtures in experimental data is a challenging task. Manual separation of spectral components, even when they are known in advance, is tedious. In this session we demonstrate Bio-Rad's approach to mixture analysis that combines software technology with a large reference datasets. We will identify components of several mixtures to demonstrate the efficacy of this approach.

Date/Time: Tuesday, July 10 2012 - Choose from two sessions:

Duration: 30 minutes
Where: Online from your office, laboratory, or home
Registration Fee: Complimentary
Register now at http://www.knowitall.com/eventcenter



  • ChemSpider
    ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
  • IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award
    The 2011 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award

    Charles K. Birdsall, Plasma Physics Pioneer, to Receive 2011 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award

    Charles K. (Ned) Birdsall, a pioneering inventor and educator whose contributions to plasma science have made a lasting impact on communications and other technologies, is being honored by IEEE with the 2011 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award. IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional association.
  • Home | Where Do You Use SciFinder Mobile?
    Where do you use SciFinder Mobile? If you are already a SciFinder Mobile customer, then show us where you use SciFinder Mobile to help make accessing the world's best chemistry research tool easy and convenient for you! Snap a shot, upload it to the site, add a caption and submit for a chance to win a monthly $50 Visa™ gift cards or — as a grand prize winner — an Apple iPad®!
 

TRIVIA

 

 From the publisher SPRINGER
Author Mapper searches journal articles and book chapters and plots the location of the authors on a map of the world.  Find potential collaborators and see who's publishing what, where.

Chemistry was the plaything of magicians, monks and pure-science teachers centuries before chemical engineering became a comprehensible term.
Whitney, Willis Rodney 1868–1958
American chemical and electrical engineer

The Stimulation of Research in Pure Science Which Has Resulted from the Needs of Engineers and of Industry
Science, Volume 65, Number 1862, March 25, 1927 (p. 288)

From Gaither's dictionary of scientific quotations pertaining to archaeology, architecture, astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, cosmology, Darwinism, death, engineering, geology, life, mathematics, medicine, nature, nursing, paleontology, philosophy, physics, probability, science, statistics, technology, theory, universe, and zoology Available online

 

 

Introduction

Chemistry

Resources on the study of chemistry

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges:   QD

 

 

Important Resources

Selected Reference Tools in Chemistry

This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts in chemistry.

Reference Sources in Chemistry

ACS style guide. QD8.5 .A25 (Reference desk, 2nd floor)

Aldrich handbook of fine chemicals and laboratory equipment. TP202 .A43 (Reference desk, 2nd floor)

Dean's handbook of organic chemistry. QD251.3 .G65 (Reference, 2nd floor)

Encyclopedia of analytical chemistry: applications, theory, and instrumentation. QD71.5 .E52 (Reference, 2nd floor)

Encyclopedia of catalysis. QD505 .E53 (Reference, 2nd floor)

Handbook of inorganic chemicals. QD155.5 .P37 (Reference, 2nd floor)

Merck index. RS356 .M524 (Reference desk, 2nd floor)

Online Reference Sources

Chemistry: foundations and applications

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics

McGraw-Hill dictionary of chemistry

 

General Reference Sources

Meet your librarian, Carol Oshel

 

Confused?

Want Help?

ask a librarian

Ask a Librarian

 

Rate This Site

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:



800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080 (P.O. Box 830643, 75083-0643) (972)-883-2955
Send your questions or comments to: Library Web Oversight Committee
UT Dallas Home Page The University of Texas at Dallas

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip