Browse By Subject
- Accounting & Finance
- Applied Sciences
- Arts and Humanities
- Behavioral & Brain Science
- Book Reviews/Literature Reviews
- Business/Management
- Class Handouts
- Computer Science/Engineering
- Distance Learning
- Education
- How To.../Tutorials
- Interdisciplinary/Gender Studies
- Job Search Tools
- Legal
- Leisure Reading
- Library Displays & Exhibits
- Natural Sciences and Mathematics
- New Online Resources at the Eugene McDermott Library
- RefWorks
- Social Sciences
- University of Texas at Dallas
How To.../Tutorials
Business Plans and Proposals
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
These resources will help guide you in creating business plans or proposals. Resources include books, ebooks, websites and other sources.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
These resources will help guide you in creating business plans or proposals. Resources include books, ebooks, websites and other sources.
Create A Company Dossier
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2010
Create a list of similar Businesses/Companies in any selected area of the U.S. Compare information on financials, employee numbers, products, etc.
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2010
Create a list of similar Businesses/Companies in any selected area of the U.S. Compare information on financials, employee numbers, products, etc.
Ebook Printing Policies
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Handout describing the printing policies and allowances for major ebook publishers to which the library subscribes.
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Handout describing the printing policies and allowances for major ebook publishers to which the library subscribes.
eBooks, a Guide
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
A brief guide to eBooks at the library, including Overdrive, the online platform that allows downloading eBooks to your Kindle, Nook, tablet, or other electronic device.
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
A brief guide to eBooks at the library, including Overdrive, the online platform that allows downloading eBooks to your Kindle, Nook, tablet, or other electronic device.
Entrepreneurship Resources
- Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
The library has many resources which would be useful for finding information on consumers, markets, trends, industries and financials.
- Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
The library has many resources which would be useful for finding information on consumers, markets, trends, industries and financials.
Evaluate a Website
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
Here are a few points to remember when evaluating the reliability of a website.
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
Here are a few points to remember when evaluating the reliability of a website.
Google Scholar
- Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
Instructions on configuring Google Scholar to connect to library resources when off campus.
- Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
Instructions on configuring Google Scholar to connect to library resources when off campus.
Government Documents
- Last Updated Oct 25, 2012
A guide to online government documents in politics, education, health etc. Federal and State (Texas)
- Last Updated Oct 25, 2012
A guide to online government documents in politics, education, health etc. Federal and State (Texas)
H-Index Using Web of Science and SCOPUS
- Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
Describes an H-index and instructions on formulating one using the Web of Knowledge/Web of Science and SCOPUS databases.
- Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
Describes an H-index and instructions on formulating one using the Web of Knowledge/Web of Science and SCOPUS databases.
How To Use an EBSCOHOST Database For Citations & Getting Expert Assistance
- Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
This tutorial will show how to Use Business Source Complete to search for articles on a topic and then follow through to the database's suggested citations. Additional information will be provided for using the SOM Writing Lab and RefWorks.
- Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
This tutorial will show how to Use Business Source Complete to search for articles on a topic and then follow through to the database's suggested citations. Additional information will be provided for using the SOM Writing Lab and RefWorks.
Information Literacy
- Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
The following resources can be used as guideance in beginning research on many topics.
- Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
The following resources can be used as guideance in beginning research on many topics.
Interlibrary Loan & E-Delivery
- Last Updated Jan 11, 2013
Get articles and books through Interlibrary Loan.
- Last Updated Jan 11, 2013
Get articles and books through Interlibrary Loan.
Job Seeking Resources in Engineering, Computer Science & Technology
- Last Updated Jan 10, 2013
This guide lists resources at the library for employment seekers in the CS and engineering disciplines. Includes detailed instructions on how you can identify companies by industry in a specific location using library databases.
- Last Updated Jan 10, 2013
This guide lists resources at the library for employment seekers in the CS and engineering disciplines. Includes detailed instructions on how you can identify companies by industry in a specific location using library databases.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Using Web of Knowledge (Science)
- Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
Generate journal citation reports online using the Web of Knowledge database.
- Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
Generate journal citation reports online using the Web of Knowledge database.
Keyword Searching Tips and Tricks
- Last Updated Jan 13, 2011
This guide will help you learn to select effective Keywords and demonstrate Boolean connectors and tips to make searching faster and easier
- Last Updated Jan 13, 2011
This guide will help you learn to select effective Keywords and demonstrate Boolean connectors and tips to make searching faster and easier
Learn/Speak a new Language
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
“Speak a New Language” and “Learn a New Language” highlight the library resources that are available for learning a new language. They include Tell Me More an online learning program, language CDs and books.
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
“Speak a New Language” and “Learn a New Language” highlight the library resources that are available for learning a new language. They include Tell Me More an online learning program, language CDs and books.
Library Services for Student Veterans
- Last Updated Jan 10, 2013
Provides some shortcuts to getting to know the library and suggested resources.
- Last Updated Jan 10, 2013
Provides some shortcuts to getting to know the library and suggested resources.
Project Management Resources
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
This guide is a selection of research resources available at McDermott Library for Project Management students and faculty.
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
This guide is a selection of research resources available at McDermott Library for Project Management students and faculty.
Read a Citation
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
There are many different styles for citing a reference, but they all include basically the same information. How do you tell which is a book, or a chapter in a book or a journal article?
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
There are many different styles for citing a reference, but they all include basically the same information. How do you tell which is a book, or a chapter in a book or a journal article?
Ready... Go: Starting Your Research Assignment
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
Which database to start with? Where are the books? Can a librarian help? Here are some quick tips and suggestions to help you get started with your writing assignments.
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
Which database to start with? Where are the books? Can a librarian help? Here are some quick tips and suggestions to help you get started with your writing assignments.
SWOT Analysis
- Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
Businesses and industries analyze themselves by doing a SWOT analysis.
- Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
Businesses and industries analyze themselves by doing a SWOT analysis.

