Librarian
About This Guide
This guide is continually updated to inform students, faculty, and our community of the many types of academic resources and search methods available to facilitate the study of Speech-Language Pathology.
Speech-Language Pathology is the clinical study, diagnosis and treatment of individuals with communication and swallowing disorders, such as stuttering, apraxia, aphasia, dysphagia, and dysarthria. Phonology, fluency and resonance of speech, as well as receptive language (cognition) and expressive language, are the chief categories of study.
Top 5 Recommended Resources
- Speech, Language and Hearing POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This POWERSEARCH searches the following databases simultaneously: APA PsycARTICLES, APA PsycINFO, CINAHL, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Education Research Complete, MEDLINE, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Social Sciences Full Text, and SocINDEX.
- PubMedPubMed provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical literature and covers the literature back to the 1950s. Links to full-text articles at other journal websites are provided for many of the citations within PubMed.
- CINAHL (nursing)This database provides indexing from journals related to nursing and allied health professions.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior AbstractsThis database abstracts and indexes international journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in the field of language sciences including the subjects of phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
- American Speech-Language-Hearing Association - Research pageResearch materials from the leading organization in speech and hearing, including evidence maps, the National Outcomes Measurement System, survey reports, and tools to implement evidence-based practice.