Skip to main content

Business Plans and Proposals: Home

These resources will help guide you in creating business plans or proposals. Resources include books, ebooks, websites and other sources.

Global Market Information Database (GMID)

Global Market Information Database (GMID) is useful for finding trends, trend forecasting and consumer markets.

 Click here to watch the tutorial: http://youtu.be/ejIK36v0a0E?list=UUq6PH-Xqn5N_Zx7-UoIv5YQ.

Market Planning

The Lexis Nexis EASI Market Planning Tool will help to formulate demographics for business plans and proposals.

View the YouTube tutorial video here:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u06ch4N8ttA.

  E-Book Collections

  • Ebrary is a collection of over 15,000 electronic books which includes most subjects.  Titles are searchable in the online catalog 
  • Safari Tech Books Online is a collection of electronic books. All of the titles are searchable in the online catalog.
  • EBooks on EBSCOHost is a collection of over 40,000 electronic books. Titles are also searchable from the online catalog.

  Newest ebooks

Introduction

 Business Plans and Proposals

McDermott Library has books which will be useful resources for helping you create a business plan or proposal for a class assignment or for entrepreneurial purposes. Often there will be very detailed, real world step-by-step instructions. Many of these books will also have sample business plans, executive summaries as well as financial analyses. 

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges: HD30.28

Government Documents

Government documents are  great resources for finding industry and consumer information when researching your market.

Lexis Nexis Academic

Lexis Nexis Academic is a multi-faceted resource; one of the ways to use it is for company information.

Important Resources

This list includes titles with appendices showing sample business plans.

  • Business plans that work. HD30.28 .T5766 2004 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
  • The McGraw-Hill Guide to writing a high-impact business plan. HD30.28 .A75 1995 (Main Stacks, 4th floor) 
  • Tips & traps for writing effective business plansHD30.28 .B33 2007 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
  • How to writen a successful business plan. HD30.28 .B775 1987 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
  • Business models made easy. HD30.28 .D3965 2006 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
  • Successful business modelsHD30.28 .D397 2003 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
  • The entrepreneur's guide to building better business plans. HD30.28 .M3853 1992 (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
  • The total business plan.  HD30.28 .O35 1995  (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
  • Bankable business plans.  HD30.28 .R644 2004  (Main Stacks, 4th floor)

 

How to Cite

CITING SOURCES

JSOM Liaison/Subject Specialist

Loreen Henry
Contact:
Eugene McDermott Library
UT Dallas
972-883-2126
Website / Blog Page