Skip to main content

Book Reviews: Home

Lots of sources for finding book reviews.

What's New

One of McDermott Library's newest book review sources is also one of its most venerable: Readers' Guide Retrospective database is the online version of the  Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.   It covers book reviews published in the popular press between 1890 and 1982.

 

Introduction

BOOK REVIEWS  

To find a book review, you need the correct TITLE of the book, the AUTHOR's name, and the DATE of publication. Reviews appear over a period of several years after the book is published. Check the databases covering the publication year and several years afterward to get all reviews. Online databases indicated with an asterisk (*) may be accessed on the Library's database page.

General Sources

 

GENERAL SOURCES (* = available on the library's database page)

Academic Search Complete (1975-current) *
Search by book title and select Book Review as Document Type in the Limit your Results section.

Book Review Digest and Book Review Digest Retrospective (1905-current) * Search by author or book title and then select Book Review as Document Type in the Limit your Results section.

 Book Review Index Online (1965-current)*
 Search by author or title

Periodicals Index Online & Periodicals Archive Online (1770-1995) *
Select Article Search and enter the book title on the Article Title Keyword(s) line. Select Book Reviews under Search Options.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature – Reference Index Area A13 .R48 1b (1900-current)
Look under the Book Reviews section in the back of each index.

Reader's Guide Retro Database (1890-1982)*
Select Book Review as Document Type

Clase Periodica Database (1975-current) *
Type Resena de Libro on the first line and select Article Type Phrase from the drop down menu on the right. On the second line, enter the book title as Keyword.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals - Reference Index Area A13 .C654 (1886 - 1974)
Arranged by author, with title index  

             


 

         

           

Subject Guide

Linda Snow
Contact:
972-883-2626

Books