Skip to main content

Film: Home

What's New

New Titles

  • Cinematic Canines: Dogs and their Work in the Fiction Film
    PN 1995.9 .A5 C555 2014
    (Main Stacks, 4th floor)

  • Film Firsts: The 25 Movies That Created Contemporary American Cinema
    PN1993.5.U6 A852 2014
    (Main Stacks, 4th floor)

  • Cinematography
    TR848 .C53 2014
    (Main Stacks, 4th floor

  • A Companion to the Historical Film
    PN1995.9.H5 C65 2013
    (Main Stacks, 4th floor)
     

Introduction

 

Film

Resources on the study of film

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges:

PN1993 – PN1999

Important Resources

Reference Sources in Film (located on the 2nd floor)

  • Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters  PN56.M55 W45 2014
  • International Motion Picture Almanac PN1993.3 .I55 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Film Noir PN1995.9 .F54M39 2007
  • New York Times Film Reviews, 1913-2000. PN1995 .N4 
  • The Film Encyclopedia : The Complete Guide to Film and the Film Industry PN1993.45 .K34 2012
  • The Rough Guide to Cult Movies PN1998 .R68 2010
  • Reel Women: An International Directory of Contemporary Films About Women PN1995.9 .W6S62 2007

  

Online Reference Sources in Film

 

Edward Hopper, "New York Movie" 1939

Subject Guide

Linda Snow
Contact:
972-883-2626

Nora Ephron, writer and director of the biopic "Julie and Julia"

Featured Database: American Film Scripts Online

This database contains hundreds of scripts, together with detailed information on the scenes, characters, and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes many original images of previously unpublished screenplays. Available on the Library's database page

.