Subject Guide
About: Databases
A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
Useful Databases
To find articles on topics in the arts and technology, use a resource from the Arts & Technology databases page. To broaden your search, select a resource from the complete list.
Top recommendations:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.
- Mass Media POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new windowThis searches the following databases simultaneously: Communication & Mass Media Complete, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), SocINDEX, and Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
- Project Muse (electronic journals from Johns Hopkins Press)This provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage begins in 1993.
- ScienceDirect journalsNote: This collection does not allow access to ALL the publisher's journals and books. Only the titles licensed are available.
- Springer LINKSpringerLink provides access to scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. SpringerLink contains full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals as well as ebooks. Coverage varies from journal to journal.